Author Topic: Creating a New System Help  (Read 1465 times)

Disney Rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Re: Creating a New System Help
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2022, 05:11:10 PM »
Found the problem. I was using capital letters, and the roms were not being found.
Give me a few days to work out some other issues, and I will upload the code for the Acorn systems.

Disney Rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Here is the new code I added
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2022, 04:27:19 PM »
</Emulator>
 <Emulator name="Electrem" hidden="false">
      <Systems>
         <System name="Acorn Electron" option="" script="true" cmd="-f -g &quot;%path\%file%ext&quot;" extensions="UEF"/>
      </Systems>
      <Requirement>None</Requirement>
        </Emulator>
<Emulator name="Arculator" hidden="false">
      <Systems>
         <System name="Acorn Archimedes" option="" script="true" cmd="-f -g &quot;%path\%file%ext&quot;" extensions="ADF"/>
      </Systems>
      <Requirement>None</Requirement>
</Emulator>
 <Emulator name="Arcem" hidden="false">
      <Systems>
         <System name="Acorn Archimedes" option="" script="true" cmd="-f -g &quot;%path\%file%ext&quot;" extensions="UEF|CSW"/>
      </Systems>
      <Requirement>None</Requirement>
</Emulator>
    <Emulator name="Atomulator" hidden="false">
      <Systems>
         <System name="Acorn Atom" option="" script="true" cmd="-f -g &quot;%path\%file%ext&quot;" extensions="UEF|CFW"/>
      </Systems>
      <Requirement>None</Requirement>

</Emulator>

Can someone figure out why mGalaxy is not finding the roms.

Disney Rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Re: Creating a New System Help
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2022, 04:45:00 PM »
Okay figured it out. (Dumb mistake) Spelling error
But it still does not work..
Mgalaxy recognizes the emulator (Electrem)It recognizes the Roms, (I even get screenshots, and movies on the MGalaxy interface
However when I go to run a game I get a red box in the lower right corner saying " This game is not in the game folder, or the extension is not recognized.  " Even though roadway found the rom, and I can see the rom in the folder.
I am attacching a video of what is happening.
I really want to get these two system working so I can share them with the mGalaxy  community. I have been working on them for two days.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2022, 06:40:40 PM by Disney Rob »

Aeliss

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 915
Re: Creating a New System Help
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2022, 09:58:05 AM »
Can you show your code additions ? Strange, was the easier part on my side. A uppercase/lowercase character issue ?
« Last Edit: July 06, 2022, 09:59:49 AM by Aeliss »

Disney Rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Re: Creating a New System Help
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2022, 09:41:31 AM »
Okay I have been able to get mGalaxy roadway to recognize my two new systems Acorn Electron, and Acorn Archimedes but I can not get them to recognize the emulator.
When I add these two systems to my mGalaxy the page comes up  where I line the Roms, Screenshot, and emulator..... but the emulator option box is empty.
I can not choose my emulator.
I have edited , edited, edited, but I can not get the right combination.

Aeliss

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 915
Re: Creating a New System Help
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2022, 06:39:52 AM »
Ha yes right, I still was on an old version too, have just updated it.
It seem now the "custom" folder is "mGalaxy\Data\Definition"

Not tested yet but it seem you need
- edit the    Systems.xml file

Code: [Select]
        <System name="Amstrad CPC" type="Computer">
<DBID pc="amstradcpc" ss="65" em="Amstrad_CPC" tgdb="Amstrad CPC" gb="11|CPC"/>
</System>

- Create a folder "Acorn Electron"
- Put the icon inside
- edit the Emulators.xml file, to add a line to the system in an existing emulator or add a new emulator, its that I have do on my side to add Arnold as CPC emulator
Code: [Select]
<Emulator name="Arnold" hidden="false">
<Systems>
<System name="Amstrad CPC" option="" script="false" cmd="-Fullscreen -Drivea &quot;%path\%file%ext&quot; /A" extensions="dsk|zip"/>
<System name="Amstrad GX4000" option="" script="false" cmd="-Fullscreen -cart &quot;%path\%file%ext&quot;" extensions="cpr|zip"/>
</Systems>
<Requirement>
<b>To set the emulator to fullscreen</b>
Start Arnold, go to &apos;View&apos; &gt; &apos;Fullscrenn&apos; then exit the emulator.
OR
Edit values in &apos;Arnold.ini&apos; file: Windowed=0.
</Requirement>
</Emulator>

I think the more important option are in the Systems.xml

 - System name = "Acorn Electron"  > here need to use the same typo for folder
- type = "Computer" > choose the good type Computer / Console / Arcade
- DBID pc="amstradcpc" ss="65" em="Amstrad_CPC" tgdb="Amstrad CPC" gb="11|CPC" > Here I realy have no clue what is the standard to use, I think need to check on the online DB site.

« Last Edit: July 03, 2022, 08:06:46 AM by Aeliss »

Disney Rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Creating a New System Help
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2022, 11:37:30 AM »
I do not know if things have changed. Or if my memory is failed.
I have added new systems before to my mGalaxy and have done it by following the directions.
I am trying to add two new systems Acorn Electron, and Acorn Archimedes and it is not working
I have done what I have done in the past  And followed the directions in creating a new system.
But it says to go to "mGalaxy\Data\BaseSystems\BaseSystems.xml" with my text editor
I don't have a basesystems directory in my data directory (or anywhere else to be exact)
Is there a tutorial somewhere that will tell me how to add these two systems and their emulators to mGalaxy
I have done it before, just forgot the paths.
Thanks .