Author Topic: No DOS Box for MAME  (Read 8218 times)

mgalaxy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1115
    • Email
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2007, 01:02:12 AM »
Paratech,

Quote
Maybe a switch would be better?

The main goal for mGalaxy being to be as simple as possible...I'm a little bit afraid to add options and options...

I think that I might rather delete this "hide dos box" option if a lot of people wanted it to disappear

Paratech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Email
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2007, 10:19:51 PM »
Would if affect messages about missing files/missing ROMS?
That might lead to some end users not knowing they're missing ROMS/BIOS Files...

Maybe a switch would be better?


mgalaxy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1115
    • Email
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2007, 08:05:07 AM »
The DOS box will be hidden in the next version (to come in a week or two) :)

uprightbass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • Email
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2007, 05:32:31 PM »
get a windows version of the emulator, like mame32 or mame32plus! either of those work the same, and will not show a dosbox when loading. Install the app in the folder your using and rename the main program (mame32gui.exe or mame32pgui.exe) to mame.exe. The emu will run and load the same, although you may have to regenerate your gamelist, but will not show the dosbox! Good luck, and any more questions just holler.

Neil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2007, 02:11:13 PM »
Sorry to bump an old thread but...

I get the DOS box and would like to hide it and cant see any mame32gui to rename.

Can someone explain this a bit more?

the720k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2007, 05:24:57 AM »
thanks, man!

uprightbass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • Email
Re: No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2007, 10:15:32 PM »
rename the windows version like mame32gui to mame.exe, then it will run the same and you wont get the dos box.

the720k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
No DOS Box for MAME
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2007, 09:48:59 PM »
I first off want to say that this an EXCELLENT app.  I'm a MameWah user, but if you keep it up, I think I and many others will make a permanent switch.

One feature I'd like to see is a NODOSBOX parameter integrated into the app.  When I launch a game, I'd rather not see a window with the command-line MAME running before the game starts.  The goal is to hide Windows.  :) 

Keep up the good work.  I love it already.  Very pretty.