Author Topic: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?  (Read 19564 times)

davhuit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2013, 09:20:55 AM »
Really nice, I'll wait :)

mgalaxy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • Email
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2013, 09:16:37 AM »
Quote
With this modification :
...
I can switch to "FBA" in mGalaxy and I can load the roms in "mGalaxy" so that's nice :)
Cool...glad you get it working!! :)

Quote
Is there a way to display the full name games (like in the actual emulator and like "mGalaxy" do for "Mame") instead of the zip archive names?
Yes, but you'll have to wait for the next release ;-)
That's not a joke...I know that you're already waiting for Xbox 360 controller support (that IS in the next release)...and you see, the Database support is included in this next release too!!! :-)
This functionality is there specifically for your kind of request!
With it, you'll be able to (1) Create a database based on your rom folder then (2) Edit that database (if needed) to give your rom a "proper" description name, give it a "genre", "clone of" info...or possible number of players allowed...
Exactly the same ease of use than you could achieve in Mame only, untill now!!!

People will be welcome to share their database so other users can benefit from it!
There's already a "download" section on the forum with some of the top consoles/systems:
http://www.mgalaxy.com/forum/index.php?action=downloads

Quote
It seems I don't need to use a "AutoIt" script, as the emulator already quit the game when I use the "ESC" key?
Absolutely! No Auto-It script needed.
When Final Burn Alpha receive a command line (which is the case here), it automatically switch to full screen display and quit on 'ESC' key
« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 09:18:14 AM by mgalaxy »

davhuit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2013, 08:04:50 AM »
Okay. So I created an ugly icon for testing purpose (it would require to put the background in black and activate transparency, I will do that later), see the attached file.

With this modification :

Code: [Select]
<System>
    <Name>Final Burn Alpha</Name>
    <AppPath>F:\Jeux PC [Downloads]\Emulation\fba_029724\fba.exe</AppPath>
    <RomPath>F:\Jeux PC [Downloads]\Emulation\fba_029724\ROMs</RomPath>
    <SnapPath>F:\Jeux PC [Downloads]\Emulation\fba_029724\support\previews</SnapPath>
    <VidPath />
    <Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="Final Burn Alpha" value="%file" />
    </Emu>
    <Ext selected="0">
      <Suf id="0" value=".zip" />
    </Ext>
    <Active>True</Active>
  </System>

I can switch to "FBA" in mGalaxy and I can load the roms in "mGalaxy" so that's nice :)

Is there a way to display the full name games (like in the actual emulator and like "mGalaxy" do for "Mame") instead of the zip archive names? Maybe with a separate config file I would manually create?

It seems I don't need to use a "AutoIt" script, as the emulator already quit the game when I use the "ESC" key?
« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 08:17:51 AM by davhuit »

mgalaxy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • Email
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2013, 04:24:54 AM »
davhuit,

You must work on 'systems.xml' file with caution!!
In your example:
- <RomPath /> (even if empty) always has to be present!
- <Ext selected="2">
      <Suf id="0" value="" />
    </Ext>
    ...is totally wrong!
    <Ext selected="0">
      <Suf id="0" value=".zip />
    </Ext>
    ...is better ;-)

- Remember that a new folder, named the same way as your new system (Final Burn Alpha), with an icon.png file inside it, has to be created.

I've done a test and it works nicely!

davhuit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2013, 12:05:45 AM »
I tried to use the same model to add support for Final Burn Alpha, but I didn't manage to do it, though Final Burn Alpha also use the same command line (fba.exe name-of-the-rom (without extension)).

Code: [Select]
  <System>
    <Name>Final Burn Alpha</Name>
    <AppPath />
    <RomPath />
    <SnapPath />
    <VidPath />
    <Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="Final Burn Alpha" value="%file" />
    </Emu>
    <Ext selected="2">
      <Suf id="0" value="" />
    </Ext>
    <Active>False</Active>
  </System>

If I don't put "rompath" and so leaving it empty in "mGalaxy_runaway", mGalaxy crash at startup.

If I put "<rompath />", mGalaxy says one of the directory (so the rompath) is empty and that the emulator will be desactivated.

If I put a valid rompath (directory where are my roms), mGalaxy crash when I switch to this new emulator.

So I don't really have a clue of what the problem is.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 07:31:11 AM by davhuit »

Stefan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • BORN TO PLAY
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2013, 02:35:55 AM »
Uff ... yes, the empty extension ...  :D

THANK YOU VERY MUCH !

( i hope, that all other emus are an idea for your next versions  ;)

 :-*
I will get a Supporter Edition, as THANKS for your help !
( i hope you take a look at my wishes too ;-))
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 02:58:56 AM by Stefan »
---------------
Greetings from Austria

mgalaxy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • Email
Re: SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 11:37:52 AM »
Model 2 Emulator ONLY takes the rom's name as argument.
NOT the full path to the rom folder!
NOT the .zip extension!

So, the first thing to do is to give the emulator the folder's path where roms reside:
Edit the 'EMULATOR.INI' file by adding the folder's path to your roms
Ex.:
[RomDirs]
Dir1=C:\Emulation\m2emulator\ROMS

While you are there, edit this line that way (to start in fullscreen mode):
AutoFull=1
That one to tell that you'll use a custom monitor definition:
FullMode=4

And set your monitor resolution:
FullScreenWidth=1600
FullScreenHeight=900


Now, concerning the mGalaxy's "Sytems.xml" file, you'll have to be sure that:
1) the command line will only pass the file name:
<Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="Model 2 Emulator" value="%file" />
</Emu>

2) since no extensions are allowed, you will have to create a "blank" extension suffix:
<Ext selected="0">
      <Suf id="0" value="" />
</Ext>


Now, we have to force the emulator to quit with the ESC key (as the others emulators).
For that purpose, you'll have to create (and compile) and AutoIt script.
Here is the script, modify the '$path' & '$app' values to match your personal settings.
ATTENTION: the ending "\" in folder path ($path) is MANDATORY

Code: [Select]
HotKeySet("{ESC}", "Terminate")
$path = "C:\Emulation\m2emulator\"
$app = "emulator_multicpu.EXE"

If $CmdLine[0] == 1 Then
    $PID = Run( $path & $app & ' ' & $CmdLine[1], $path)
    While 1
          Sleep(100)
    WEnd
EndIf
Func Terminate()
    While ProcessExists ( $PID )
ProcessClose ( $PID )
    WEnd
    Exit 0
EndFunc

So mGalaxy will now use that compiled script (ex.: AutoIt_Model2.exe).
You do have to set the application path to that 'AutoIt_Model2.exe' file in mGalaxy_Runway.

And for no confusion I'll advice you to adapt that line in 'Systems.xml', to remind you that you're using an AutoIt script:
<Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="AutoIt" value="%file" />
</Emu>

You should now enjoy playing Sega Model 2 games !!;-)
« Last Edit: February 22, 2013, 01:03:25 PM by mgalaxy »

Stefan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • BORN TO PLAY
SEGA Model 2 Emu add ?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 06:06:42 AM »
Hi,

now i try to add the Sega Model 2 Emu, with Games as Sega Rally, House of the Dead, ...
Tested on 0.9 and 1.0, emulator.exe start in Background, but no screens to see ...

How is the correct command line with add a game.zip ?

Something is at http://nebula.emulatronia.com unter "Model 2 emulator 0.5a" ...

 :-\

Edit:
I think i need the %filename (?): ex: srally
and not the %file: ex: srally.zip
In a windows comand line i use: "emulator.exe srally" = this works !
 :(
« Last Edit: February 22, 2013, 06:42:31 AM by Stefan »
---------------
Greetings from Austria